Organized October 19, 1850 on two acres of land donated by Col. Eppy White, using the Greek word "Eudora" signifying "good gift" as its name, this church met in a log schoolhouse until the congregation's first structure was erected in 1851, its first pastor being J.B. Canada. Here, at what was then called White's Station, a larger building of wood-frame construction was completed in 1858. During the Civil War, the sanctuary was used as a Federal hospital. In 1866, the "Memphis Avalanche" newspaper held an ice cream supper to raise funds for the restoration of the church's interior. This wood-frame sanctuary remained in constant use until its demolition in 1964, with the present sanctuary being dedicated on Jul 21, 1968.
(continued on the other side)
Of the congregations' many pastors, Dr. Fred M. Wood, Sr.'s service was significant for its length (1952-1983) and Eudora Baptist's unprecedented growth. In what was to become Eudora Baptist Church, every building except one was planned, built, dedicated and paid for during his tenure and church membership grew to its greatest number recorded as well as the vital Sunday School enrollment. In 1973, the church proudly hosted the 99th annual Tennessee Baptist Convention. In 1998, Eudora was able to temporarily accommodate the Memphis Symphony and a Mandarin Church. The City's changing growth patterns brought younger families back into the community and Eudora Baptist began to experience growth once more. The church continues on in its stated mission of being "In the Heart Of Memphis For The Hearts Of Memphis."