Home | Contact | Ethics | F. A. Q. | Filing Tools | Forms | Glossary | History | Links | Mortgage Calculator | Recording Statistics
Tom Leatherwood
 
Historical Markers of Shelby County

<< PreviousBackNext >>
VideoImageText

Martin Stadium

Martin Stadium, formerly known as Lewis Park, was home of one of the most enduring teams of the Negro Leagues-the Memphis Red Sox (1920s-1950s). During its era, the stadium was one of the few African-American-owned and operated ball parks in the country. Robert S Lewis, Sr., one of the pioneers in Negro baseball, built the park at the corner of Iowa Avenue and Lauderdale Street. Lewis sold the park and Memphis Red Sox to W.S. Martin and his brothers in 1927. Before it was demolished in 1961, Martin stadium also hosted African-American community events.